世界房地产市场稳步增长

世界房地产市场

世界房地产市场

全球形势

当今世界房地产市场

关键精华

2019年,世界房地产市场规模有所增加。专业管理的全球房地产投资市场的规模从8.9年的2018万亿美元增加到9.6年的2019万亿美元。

与去年相比,货币走势对世界房地产市场的影响很小。 货币变动对全球房地产投资市场的规模产生了约0.1%的美元(USD)影响,而2018年的负面影响为-2.6%。 资产价值的增长和现有投资组合,新确定的投资组合以及市场的新发展(例如新建筑和销售以及回租交易)的交易活动也推动了市场规模的增长。

与世界房地产市场相比,美国的重量有所增加。 美国在MSCI全球年度房地产指数中的相对权重(未冻结;权重:市场规模)在2019年进一步增加。

与世界房地产市场连续第二年相比,中国仍然是第四大市场。 中国在2018年已超过德国,连续第二年成为仅次于美国,日本,英国的第四大国内市场。

MSCI从2004年开始系统地估算专业管理的房地产投资市场的规模。

这些估计是创建MSCI全球年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场规模)和一系列其他跨国指数的基础,并且它们提供了对MSCI直接房地产指数涵盖范围的见解。

本文列出了2019年的市场规模估计并解释了2018年至2019年之间发生的主要变化。

MSCI全球年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场规模)权衡了25个国家/地区的房地产投资回报。 尽管MSCI在日本和韩国的国家指数已包含在MSCI全球年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场规模)中,但我们在其他七个亚洲国家(中国,香港,印度尼西亚,马来西亚,新加坡,台湾和泰国)的市场数据–从该索引中排除。

在此报告中,所有国家/地区的市场规模均基于自下而上的,特定于投资组合的估计,并使用年末货币转换率将其转换为美元。

估计市场规模

MSCI收集了有关全球各个房地产投资组合的大量信息,这构成了我们的市场信息产品(全球英特尔)和企业分析的基础,用于在资产级别直接持有房地产。 到2019年底,这些直接衡量的房地产投资组合的价值为2.2万亿美元。 但是,尽管覆盖范围很高,但MSCI并未直接衡量市场中的所有投资组合。

虽然MSCI的数据对于了解市场的变化很有用,但仍需要其他数据源来建立市场规模的最终估计。 MSCI通过将自下而上的,特定于投资组合的内部信息与从公共领域获得的数据相结合来做到这一点,这些数据包括预先存在的数据库,公司的年度和季度报告以及公司网站的数据。 该方法旨在按照MSCI方法(按投资组合)确定每个国家的所有直接房地产资产,该方法仅旨在获取为投资目的而拥有的专业管理房地产的价值。

市场规模估计变化

投资房地产存量定义为主要目的是从投资收益中受益的财产,与所有者占用和非投资租赁房地产不同。 市场的所有者占有部分包括私有和上市公司既拥有和占用的房地产,政府拥有并用于政府目的的房地产以及私有房屋所有者拥有的住宅。 此外,有些组织拥有房地产并将其出租给租户,但其主要目标除了产生投资回报外。

其中包括社会住房组织和市政当局,它们在某些国家拥有大量房地产资产(有关所用方法的更多信息,请参见附录1)。

MSCI使用每个市场中用于投资目的的专业管理房地产股票的总估计规模,重新衡量有助于产生跨国指数的国家指数,包括但不限于MSCI全球年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场)尺寸)。 为此,所有国家/地区级别的市场规模估算都以年末货币转换率转换为美元。

由于全国范围内MSCI指数覆盖水平的差异,对这些指数进行了重新称重,以在它们所贡献的跨国指数的市场之间提供更具代表性的平衡。 市场规模估算值还用于重新加权MSCI全球年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场规模),MSCI北欧年度房地产指数(未冻结)和MSCI欧洲年度房地产指数(未冻结;权重:市场规模)。以及其他区域索引和定制或自定义索引。

专业管理的全球房地产投资市场的规模从7.8年的8.9万亿美元增长到2018年的9.6万亿美元,增长了2019%。与2018年相比增长更高,当时市场增长了4.1%。
图表1:全球市场规模估算的变化以及5个最大的国家(十亿美元)。

美国仍然是最大的市场,而日本和英国分别保持第二和第三的位置。 中国连续第二年保持在第四位,而德国处于第五位。

市场规模的长期变化

如图2所示,MSCI全球年度房地产指数中各个国家的相对权重(未冻结;权重:市场规模)已随时间推移而变化。这些变化是资产价值增长,货币影响和残差成分共同作用的结果。 美国市场的比重继续逐年增加,从31.0年的2009%增至41.3年的2019%。德国,法国和加拿大的比重分别继续保持在7.0%,5.3%和4.4%左右。 英国的权重约为9.0%,而2014年则超过11.0%。 日本从15.3年的2009%下降到10.6年的2019%。

参考: 年度更新 专业管理的全球房地产投资市场规模研究,伯特·特本,拉齐亚·内沙特,2020年XNUMX月

打开监控屏幕

您可能也有兴趣

阅读我们关于可负担性最佳英国房地产市场投资领域和可用于资本增长的最佳英国房地产市场投资领域的分析。

从我们的博客中阅读更多内容

回到顶部

World Property Market Steadily Growing

World Property Market

World Property Market

Global situation

World Property Market Today

Key Takeaways

The World Property Market size increased in 2019. The size of the professionally managed global real estate investment market increased from $8.9 trillion in 2018 to $9.6 trillion in 2019.

Currency movements had marginal impact to the World Property Market as compared to last year. Currency movements marginally impacted the size of the global real estate investment market by approximately +0.1% in US Dollars (USD), in contrast to the negative impact in 2018 (-2.6%). Asset value growth and transaction activity of already existing portfolios, newly identified portfolios and new developments in the market, such as new construction and sale and leaseback transactions, also contributed to the growth in market size.

United States weight has increased compared to the World Property Market. The relative weight of the United States within the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size) increased further in 2019.

China continues to be the fourth-largest market when compared to the World Property Market for the second consecutive year. China ranked as the fourth-largest national market, behind United States, Japan, United Kingdom for the second consecutive year having overtaken Germany in 2018.

MSCI began systematically estimating the size of professionally managed real estate investment markets in 2004.

These estimates are fundamental to the creation of the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size) and a range of other multinational indexes, and they provide insights into the coverage of MSCI’s direct property indexes.

This paper sets out the 2019 market size estimates and explains the main changes that occurred between 2018 and 2019.

The MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size) weighs real estate investment returns across 25 countries. While MSCI’s national indexes for Japan and Korea are included in the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size), our market data for seven other Asian countries – China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan and Thailand – are excluded from that index.

In this report, all national market sizes are based on bottom-up, portfolio- specific estimates, and these are converted into US Dollars using the year-end currency conversion rate.

Estimating Market Sizes

MSCI captures a large amount of information on individual real estate investment portfolios around the world, which forms the foundation of our market information products (Global Intel) and Enterprise Analytics for direct real estate holdings at the asset level. By the end of 2019, the value of these directly measured real estate investment portfolios was $2.2 trillion. However, despite this high level of coverage, MSCI does not directly measure all portfolios in the market.

While MSCI’s data is useful for understanding how the market is changing, additional data sources are needed to build up definitive estimates of market size. MSCI does this by combining bottom-up, portfolio-specific in-house information with data obtained from the public domain, including pre-existing databases, annual and quarterly reports from companies and data from company websites. This approach aims to identify all direct real estate holdings in each country on a portfolio-by-portfolio basis, following the MSCI methodology, which seeks only to capture the value of professionally managed real estate owned for investment purposes.

Market Size Estimated Change

Invested real estate stock is defined as property owned for the primary purpose of benefiting from investment returns, as distinct from owner-occupied and non- investment leased real estate. The owner-occupied part of the market comprises real estate that is both owned and occupied by private and public companies, real estate owned by governments and used for governmental purposes, and residential buildings owned by private homeowners. In addition, there are organizations that own and lease real estate to tenants but whose primary objective something other than generating an investment return.

These include social housing organizations and municipalities, which in some countries have substantial real estate portfolios (see Appendix 1 for more information about the methodology used).

MSCI uses the total estimated size of the professionally managed real estate stock owned for investment purposes in each market to reweigh national indexes that contribute to the generation of multinational indexes, including but not limited to the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size). For this purpose, all country-level market size estimates are converted to US Dollars at year- end currency conversion rates.

Due to differences in MSCI index coverage levels nationally, the indexes are reweighed to provide a more representative balance between markets in the multinational indexes to which they contribute. The market size estimates are used for reweighing the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size), the MSCI Nordic Annual Property Index (Unfrozen) and the MSCI Europe Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size), as well as other regional indexes and bespoke or custom indexes.

The size of the professionally managed global real estate investment market increased by 7.8% from $8.9 trillion in 2018 to $9.6 trillion in 2019. The growth was higher as compared to 2018 when the market grew by 4.1%.
Exhibit 1: Change in Global Market Size Estimate and for 5 largest countries, USD Billion.

United States continued to be the largest market, while Japan and United Kingdom remained at the second and third position respectively. China continued to be at the fourth position for the second year in a row while Germany was at the fifth position.

Longer Term Changes In Market Size

The relative weights of individual countries in the MSCI Global Annual Property Index (Unfrozen; Weighting: Market Size) have shifted over time, as shown in Exhibit 2. These changes have resulted from a combination of asset value growth, currency impact and a residual component. The weight of the United States market continued to increase year on year, going from 31.0% in 2009 to 41.3% in 2019. Germany, France and Canada continued to be around 7.0%, 5.3% and 4.4% respectively. The weight of the United Kingdom was around 9.0% as compared to 2014 when it was over 11.0%. There was a decline in Japan from 15.3% in 2009 to 10.6% in 2019.

Reference: Annual Update on the Size of the Professionally Managed Global Real Estate Investment Market, Bert Teuben, Razia Neshat , June 2020

turned on monitoring screen

You might also be interested

Read our analysis about the best UK property market investment areas for affordability and the best UK property market investment areas for capital growth.

Read more from our blog

Back on top